Diet Road Rage!! – Moods!

I think I should start logging my Goddamn moods when I’m non a diet!  I KNOW that I have to eat carbs in order to sustain my sanity, but I’m still tweeking how much I need.  For example:

This morning I felt fab having done my 30 min fat burn; I was literally ‘buzzing’.  Big smiles.  No-one could have pissed me off :oD.  Then I had brekky – cereal – carbs, still feeling buzzy!  Then I went out to get some sun, that’s good for you isn’t it.  Good for your mood too ;o)  Everything was going well.  Then I started to feel hungry and was nowhere near being back home. So I stopped off and bought an apple.  Great, still felt fine.  Then did some shopping and I started feeling hungry again.  Then i got a bit anxious cos I wasn’t going to another treadmill session in before lunch.  It’s more important to eat, right?  Expecially seeing as did a session this morning and will do one before dinner.  No great shakes, I can build up to 3 per day.  And then I’m driving along and some bloke starts bibbing me – I then blew a gasket!!!  LOL!!  (Funny now, cos I’ve eaten!)  Now, it’s not like me to lose my cool that quickly EVEN in rush hour traffic, so I can only put it down to diet/food/lack of patience! 

Well, I’m working harder than I ever have on the activity levels and I certainly haven’t increased my calorie intake.  I’m just eating what I was eating when I was on a diet and only exercising 3x per week.  The idea is to lose weight quicker (my usual 1lb in 3 weeks was just depressing me!! – See my ‘I am abnormal’ post). So the idea of ‘quick’ for me I’m hoping will be like a normal person, maybe 2lbs per week or even 1lb per week.  (I only got the treadmill on Tuesday so not had chance to gauge it all yet). 

Anyway, the point is that I may not be eating enough to compensate for the increased activity.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not about to go and purchase a bar of chocolate (MMMmmmm!) I’m just writing this down now as I think I need to monitor my moods as well as my weight, otherwise someone might die at my hands……..LOL!!

;o)

~ by tuscanystone on September 19, 2008.

4 Responses to “Diet Road Rage!! – Moods!”

  1. OK, tusc, I have a few suggestions.

    First, you may want to pick up some nuts or a protein bar or something for emergencies. You want to go with protein as it is more filling and won’t spike insulin. A mix of protein, healthy fats, and carbs would be best (like in nuts).

    It is very hard to burn extra calories by working your cute buns off. You are better off focusing on diet and adding in strength training, rather than 4 hours of cardio per day. I know chicks don’t want muscles, but don’t worry, unless you are on steroids, you don’t have enough testosterone to start looking manly, and just think how nice the back of your arms will look and how tight your buns and thighs will be. 🙂

    How many cals per day do you eat? Forgive me if you’ve mentioned this already, I’m light headed from my diet.

  2. Are you familiar with the GI diet hun? I keep giving you examples and I’m not sure if you’ve ever heard of it, know the foods or even care!! lol

    Anyway, apples are low GI – ie they don’t spike your insulin. Almonds and hazlenuts are low GI too, so yeah, will get some of them for emergencies…lol Most other nuts are Medium GI so I’m better off eating an apple!

    There are a few reasons why I hired a treadmill:
    1. my life is sedentary. I really need to increase my normal day to day activity levels as I’m not even sure I exert myself enough to burn off 1200 calories which is the minimum I should be eating on a diet!
    2. I don’t belong to a gym – I don’t like them much and I get bored and self conscious.
    3. Falling over a treadmill in my lounge will mean I will use it more often! lol
    4. It was cheaper than joining a gym that makes you join up for a year minimum
    5. Cardio burns fat – or so I’m led to believe! Or at the very least, having more of an active lifestyle leads to using more energy/calories.

    At the end of the day, with all the different diets and methods and science and this and that that exists today I still truely beleive, and have read, that the only way to lose weight is to eat less calories than you expend! Yes, I do think that you need to adjust things to suit your own body and lifestyle. Yes, I do believe that we are all unique and one method that works for one, may not work for another. Yes, I do beleive that to increase your metabolism will relate to how many calories are burnt. The main things that increase metabolism are:

    activity
    muscle mass
    food

    I think its finding the right balance of what works for you. I dont think that weight training every day and sitting on my butt for the rest of it will be the answer for me. I do resistance exercises as well as cardio. Although, it’s only twice per week at the moment! I guess you are saying to increase that?? Or are you saying stop the cardio alltogether? I dunno, as long as I see weight coming off I think what i’m doing is working. When it stops working then I need to adjust, right? What says you? :o)

    Oh! I’m only eating about 1100 – 1200 calories per day.

    More importantly, why are you light-headed?? Are you fasting?? (which i DONT AGREE WITH, BY THE WAY…..LOL!)

    Best,

    Tusc :o)

  3. Wow, that is a long response.

    I’m not saying don’t eat the apples at all. In fact, I read that women who ate three or more apples per day weighed less on average than women who ate fewer apples. I’m just saying an apple and some protein. I know a bit about the low GI diet, and I think it is a good one, from what I understand of it. I’m not trying to convert you or anything.

    I didn’t realize you were resistance training twice per week, this is good. I just wonder if with all of the cardio, you aren’t boosting your hunger, too? I think it is good that you have the cardio split up, though. It makes a lot more sense to do it in smaller blocks than in one two hour block.

    I wasn’t trying to criticize you at all. You are doing very, very well, and I’m proud of you.

    Yes, I do intermittent fasting on days that I don’t lift weights. I’ll post an article on my blog about the health benefits (there are many).

  4. Hey Arnie :o)

    Sorry if I came across on the defensive. I didn’t feel criticized hun. I just thought it was a good idea to outline my thoughts and methods so you could understand what I’m doing and why. I’m also getting to understand your thoughts and methods and a better understanding of you. And the one thing that I’ve discovered is that we are approaching the weight loss battle in different ways. I only see this as a GOOD thing :o) Because, come the day when either one of us are in plateau: can’t shift a pound for weeks, feeling depressed and ready to throw the towel in, then we always have the other person’s method to try! :oD

    I’m proud of you too honey :o)

    Tusc :o)

Leave a Reply

 
