Alone or Lonely?

I once asked my Mum if she wasn’t lonely stuck up in the bedroom on her own every day.  She replied that she was on her own, not lonely!  I thought how wise a comment that was.

Have you eer been in a room full of people and felt alone? 

I’ve noticed lately how my friend keeps reminding me that he’s lonely.  He’s been separated from his wife for over a year now.  And whilst he didnt have a great marraige, he now feels lonely.  Or does he mean he feels alone?  Is there a difference? 

I’m often alone in this room, but I never feel lonely.  And then I can sit in this room and feel as lonely as hell.  I never whine about it to my friends tho.  I feel kinda ashamed for feeling lonely.  Like I’m ugly or something.  Like nobody wants me. That’s a hard thing to admit to yourself, let alone your friends!  I know that’s stupid, but hey, who said my brain was clever…lol 

I am fed up of sleeping alone tho.  And watching tele alone.  And eating alone.  And driving alone.  And walking alone. 

Lonely or alone, it’s nice to share these things with someone special eh :o)

~ by tuscanystone on September 24, 2008.

4 Responses to “Alone or Lonely?”

  1. I love my alone time. If I feel lonely I call someone, email a friend (like you), or go visit one of my neighbors.

    There is no shame in being alone or lonely.

    To quote Billy Joel in the song My Life:

    “They will tell you, you can’t sleep alone in a strange place
    Then they’ll tell you, you can’t sleep with somebody else
    Ah, but sooner or later you sleep in your own space
    Either way it’s okay, you wake up with yourself”

    I get Neil Walsch’s I believe God wants you to know newsletter every day, and this one made me think of you, Tusc:

    On this day of your life, dear friend, I believe God wants you to know…

    …that your heart will be opened again soon. Indeed,

    very soon, if you are receptive to it.

    Do not think that you have had your last chance to love.

    God would never do that to you. Your chances are as

    endless as life itself! So love, love, love. And do not

    worry about who loves you back.

    Then get set for more love to fill your days and nights,

    precisely because you have not worried about it. For

    you always receive from the world what you give to the

    world. It is The Law.

    You know exactly why you are reading this message

    right now.

  2. I’m not drinking enough water and then you write something like this!! Now I’m totally dehydrated cos I’m crying so much!

    lol

    Thanks Arnie, I will try not to worry about it anymore ;o)

    xx

  3. oh! How do I subscribe to Neil Walsch’s inspirational newsletters?? :o)

  4. nealedonaldwalsch.com

Leave a Reply

 
