Discovery – fat intake

This week my weight loss buddy convinced me that it would be a good idea to keep a food diary.  I (reluctantly) joined up with Fitday.  I say reluctantly as i didnt want to get bogged down with the whole calorie counting thing.  I thought I KNEW pretty much how many calories I was eating simply by past calorie counting efforts and the odd glance at a food label!  Wrong!  I was probably 300 – 400 calories out!  And whilst this wasn’t the end of the world as I was doing a good job of maintaining my weight, I wasn’t losing any.  And boy, I need to LOSE it!

So, I’m counting my calories and lo and behold have dropped 2 stubborn pounds this week.  I did drop down to 1000 calories tho, and whilst this made me lose 2lbs in 2 days, I felt really hungry and didnt think I’d make my long term goals feeling like that.  So, I upped my calorie intake to 1250 and haven’t lost anymore weight this week.  I’m not yet sure if that means I’m eating slightly too much again, or if I’m just retaining water as it’s my pre-menstrual week, so I’m going to have to wait and see.

Anyway, onto the fat revelation:

I have, over the years, weened myself off fat rich products (apart from chocolate :o)  I come from a day when fat meant fat!!  So, you know, I drink semi or skimmed milk in my tea/coffee.  I use olive oil spread as opposed to butter.  I dont eat much cheese and I discard the chicken skin or before cooking and I dont eat visible fat on meat.  That kind of thing. 

Last week, I felt that maybe I’d gone too far with the fat thing so I started to add some.  I added olive oil to vegetables and had spread on my toast.

However, I’ve stopped that again this week as that extra fat is what is taking me over my calorie allowance.

But, and this is the discovery that i’m quite suprised at:

I’m still eating 30% fat!!!

What with fitdays calculations and pie charts and things, I’m ending up eating more fat than I ever imagined.  I didnt realise food contained so much of it just naturally. 

So, I’m really pleased that I’m still getting enough fat to survive without having to add any. Without having to think about it!  I’m keen to lose weight without thinking too much…..lol

We need good fats to survive, by the way…………….

:o)

~ by tuscanystone on October 11, 2008.

3 Responses to “Discovery – fat intake”

  1. Mmm, fat. You are making me hungry, Tusc. LOL

    There is only one bad fat, and that is frankenfat, aka trans fat. All the other fat is good for you!

    I wouldn’t worry about the 30% fat. Maybe you could drop some of the bread/pasta type stuff out of your diet and add a tablespoon of olive oil on your veggies? I think that would be a worthwhile trade, don’t you? Much healthier for you than breard or pasta, too!

  2. How much bread/pasta do you think I eat?? lol

    I literally have 1 slice of bread sometimes with eggs for lunch. or I might have a sweet potato with beans for lunch. Dinner is just protein & veg.

    So, no, it’s not worth the trade as I need some complex carbs to keep me sane……lol

    Actually, I’m happy with the way it’s balancing out. I’m HAPPY that I dont have to add fat! As you know, I’m into balanced eating. So the pie chart is kinda looking like 30%fat, 30% protein, 40% carbs. Obviously this varies a bit daily but in general I think its a good balance :o)

    Don’t forget I’m only eating 1200 calories a day honey. You get through that on your fast days!! lol So it’s not actually a lot of food to swap around………

  3. I know, I know. I’m just amazed at the satiety that fat brings. When I switched my diet around to have more fat, I found myself feeling full faster and longer. If only I wouldn’t have been eating peanuts, things would have gone a lot smoother. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
