Do I really feel this happy on a diet?

I know a thing or two about diets.  I think my first diet was age 12!  It’s not that I’ve ever been morbidly obese or anything, it’s just that I am a genetically predisposed endomorph with PCOS.  I therefore put weigh on as soon as I sniff an apple pie with ice-cream, let alone when I eat it!   And, of course, I love food!  So, consequently, I have been like a yo-yo my whole life. 

But as you get older, it gets harder to lose weight and easier to put it on.  For the last 2 years I’ve been letting the 40s get the better of me.  I’ve also had a shit time relationship wise and a shit time with dear people getting sick or dieing.  I basically let myself go as I didnt have the mental strength required to go on yet another diet.

But hey, something clicked into place a couple months ago and here I am again.  But I’ve done things a lot differently this time.  And my usual impatience to lose weight has morphed into a steady and consistent effort.  My usual fear of weighing as resulted in 2 sets of scales and a daily weigh in.  My usual condemnation of counting calories has resulted in an online food journal.  And my usual half-hearted attempt at pretending I love certain bits of my body, has resulted in me facing my body head on and working with it gently and lovingly and realising that I love and need ALL of it!

I owe a lot of my current contentment to keeping a blog, to my ex weight loss buddy’s interaction and blogs in general!  All of a sudden there’s a whole world of people open to me that understand the trials and tribulations of weight loss and fitness.  I always felt so alone in this before.  Now, I find empathy in every page I read 🙂

So, I will bore you no further.  I just want to make a list of the things that I feel are leading to both my physical and mental success on this weight loss regime.  I hope it will help someone else who is feeling like losing weight is such a misery.  Done right, I’m here to tell you that you CAN be HAPPY on a diet…..

  • Start a blog – exorcising your mind as well as your body works wonders!  I dont even need an audience, I just need to be able to get stuff off my chest; writing things down is great therapy 🙂
  • Read other blogs – I love reading about weight loss and fitness.  I have learned so much.  I have read people better off than me, worse off than me, happy people, sad people, slim people, fat people.  Everyone has their story.  Reading blogs makes me smile, makes me cry, makes me angry, makes me question, makes me think, makes me judge, makes me humble.  Most of all I feel encouraged to be myself and to love myself.  My eyes really sting too!!!  lol 😉
  • Start a food journal – I fought against this one for years!!!  I never wanted to be bogged down with the whole calorie counting thing.  I didnt WANT to be on a diet so hell, why remind myself every minute of the day by writing things down?  Well, the stubborn ox that I am started one and you know what?  It’s THE best thing I ever did.  Fitday.com is the online journal I use.  It’s so easy, so NOT time consuming.  It makes me make food choices that I otherwise would not make.  It’s the difference between losing 1lb and losing nothing.  I can’t recommend it enough!
  • Hire a treadmill/elliptical/bike/whatever – It takes a lot of effort to get your butt to a gym every day.  It takes effort to put your walking shoes on and go for a walk/jog in the rain!  You can always make excuses.  But can you make excuses when the ‘gym’ is in your home?  NO!!  I look at this massive machine blocking my pathway to my kitchen and I just get on it!  Simple! 
  • Eat balanced meals – and when you eat healthy, low processed, regular and renew your relationship with vegetables, then you find that you dont feel hungry or deprived.  Fad diets are crap.  Starvation diets are crap.  What really matters are calories in and calories out!  Choose your calories wisely and you wont feel hungry.  I’m not saying that you’ll lose a ton of weight in a week.  I’m saying you will feel happy and content with your efforts and lose weight slowly, healthily and keep it off (I hope!!  I haven’t got to that stage yet, but I have a feeling my mind has sussed it out!)
  • Take cheat days! – I think this is probably the most important to me.  Not because I want to pig out.  But because I’m a sociable animal that loves nothing better than eating and drinking with my friends and family.   Whoever invented cheat days is a complete genius!  I just wouldnt survive a long term diet if I didnt feel comfortable having days off!  Before I read about cheat days I used to be really down on myself for enjoying myself out with friends!!  Can you beleive that?  How can you feel depressed for having a good time? 
  • Chill out and enjoy the ride! – I probably have to remind myself of this more than anyone as I’m an impatient fool who thinks I can lose 3 stone in 3 weeks…lol  ok, slight exaggeration there, but you know,if it takes a month or 6 months or 2 years, you have to enjoy the journey otherwise you’re going to go nuts!  You have to still have a life!!  Life continues when you’re fat or thin!  I got myself into this state and to get out of it is going to take time.  I am learing this as each week passes.  Ok, I would love to fit into ‘that’ dress my new years eve, but if I don’t, I know I’m still going to have a great time as I’m fitter, stronger, healthier, leaner and glowing more than I have done in ages! 

“Life is a journey, not a destination!”  So is a diet!  Enjoy the journey!! 😀 

~ by tuscanystone on November 16, 2008.

One Response to “Do I really feel this happy on a diet?”

  1. its crazy huh? everywhere you look people are going through the same things- its a great support system.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

Leave a Reply

 
