Music emotion….

I know I’m not alone when I say that music brings out the best and worst in me.  For anyone that’s into their music, they know the havoc it can play on your emotions. 

Two extreme examples:

I just bought a CD by Pink.  Track 2 is “Who Knew”.  I’ve cried to this track many times over the last 2 years.  It reminds me of the love of my life that went to live in Australia, coincidentally, 2 years ago!  But, of course, you move on.  Don’t you?  Well, I just played the track for the first time in a few months and I sat here crying my eyes out.  All the memories you tend to lock away when you ‘move on’ came flooding black in a great big whooooooooooosh!  Even I, Miss Emotionally Wrecked, was not prepared for that reaction.  And of course it made it worse when I played it again and actually read the lyrics in the cover.  Words like “that kiss I’ll cherish” (I still do!”) “But I keep your memory” (every last moment of it!) and “I’ll keep you locked in my head till we meet again” (Jeez!!) and finally “my darling, I miss you”……………….

crying again just writing this……..

anyway……..

on the up side, I went to see Paul Weller last week.  He’s been in my life since I was a teen.  There was the Jam, then the Style council, then Mr Weller himself.  I can’t remember anything I did in the 90’s without him!  He encapsulated an era of my life.  An era with someone that I was living with for 12 years.  We both loved him and went to gigs and festivals and bought all the CD’s.  Anyway…….at the gig last week, he sang all my favourite songs.  Twas like he was playing it for me.  I was dancing like a teenager!  Singing like a diva!  Rocking like a true chick!!  The smile on my face was bigger than the biggest cheshire cat!  I was truely exuding happy hormones for days after.  What a buzz!!

That’s music for me 😀

~ by tuscanystone on December 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
