Pull up bar ~ part 1

Well, I took the plunge and bought a pull up bar! 

I didn’t think I’d be able to do one pull up, and I was right!  haha!

So I emailed my lovely Gym Junkies friend and mentor, Vic, and he advised me to start pulling whilst standing on something and to improvise with a towel or rope and do some body rows.

So, I can do (a few) body rows, with the aid of my trusty skipping rope twisted round the bar!  And I can do ab raises, although the ab straps are a bit pointless awkward.  I’m also practicing pullups while standing on a chair to support most  some of my weight!

I’m sure as I lose weight, and get stronger, I will be impressing Sarah Conner!!!  😀

Here is the demon bar.  Looks like some kind of  torture contraption that you have to endure before you enter my bedroom!!  Beware guys!! 😉

dscf2012dscf2016

~ by tuscanystone on February 27, 2009.

11 Responses to “Pull up bar ~ part 1”

  1. oh my goodness, you are one brave women! It’s been a year and a half and I have YET to try a pull up. I’m way to scared!!!

  2. You’ll probably do better than me Jen. Give it a try? Even if you can’t do one, like me, it’s a nice new challenge to get your teeth into! 😉

    Tusc 🙂

  3. awesome! i want one!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  4. Very cool! Glad you posted this. Keep us updated with your progress…

  5. Quite a nice setup for pullups you got there. I;m jealous 😛

    -Yavor

  6. @Kelly – If you’re serious babe, the link in the US (As you know I’m in the UK, but its the same brand name) is:

    http://www.getirongym.com/Default.asp?bhcp=1

    It’s cheap and it’s sturdy! And it doesnt take up any floor space! Everyone into their fitness should have one, me thinks!

    Tusc 🙂

  7. @Justin – Hey Justin, the silent partner!! How ya doin?

    I think Vic knows that he will be the first one to know when I conquer the Iron Gym!! haha! (That’s what the pull-up bar is called)

    Tusc 🙂

  8. @Yavor – thanks honey! Judging by your physique I would imagine you have one in every doorway!! 😉 haha!

    All the best

    Tusc 🙂

  9. I’m glad you said “torture…”

    First thing I thought of when I saw it. 🙂

  10. yeah but Charlie, you’d think that throwing the last bite of a cheesburger in the bin was an act of torture! lol

    Mwah! 😉

  11. being able to do pull ups is all about setting goals for yourself. This way you can build up to 5, 10, 15, 20 in a row, and so on.

Leave a Reply

 
